reviews
Michael's Reviews

Michael's Reviews (13)

Oathbringer(Stormlight Archive #3)
11, Dec

Oathbringer is the third volume in the Stormlight Archive featuring strong themes, great character development, and ramifications for Brandon's world at large-the cosmere. 

Pillars of the Genre: Episode 2, The Hobbit
19, Nov

In the second episode of Pillars of the Genre, I mistakenly call it Foundations of the Genre and reflect on my most recent reread of The Hobbit. It did my soul a lot of good, and I hope this video encourages you to dust it off. 

Blackwing (The Raven's Mark #1)
27, Oct

Blackwing by Ed McDonald is an imaginitive and lean epic sword and sorcery novel. 

 

 

A Head Full of Ghosts video review
20, Oct

A Head Full of Ghosts by Paul Tremblay is a creepy psychodrama set confidently in the 21st century.  

 

I Was A Teenage Weredeer (Brightfalls Mysteries #1)
06, Oct

CT Phipps and Michael Suttkus have written a hilariously enjoyable Buffyesque urban fantasy. 

Behind the Vale(The Vale #1)
29, Sep

Brian D Anderson's Behind the Vale is a JRPG inspired urban fantasy. 

The Court of Broken Knives (Empires of Dust)
22, Sep

*Editor's Choice* The Court of Broken Knives by Anna Smith Spark is a sharply written tour de force. 

Little Brother (Little Brother #1)
15, Sep

Little Brother by Cory Doctorow is a seminal near future work that makes the challenges of privacy and security in the internet age a tantalizing YA thriller.

Rebel Rising (Star Wars)
08, Sep

Rebel Rising by Beth Revis is an excellent entry to the new Star Wars canon. Its YA tone and pacing paired with the excellent character origin story for Jyn make it perfect for fans of Rogue One especially. 

Pillars of the Genre: Good Omens and Neuromancer
01, Sep

Pillars of the Genre: Good Omens and Neuromancer Video review

 

In this special series, I'll take a look back at the seminal works in science fiction and fantasy.